Skip to content

Identity Crisis Mitigation

June 22, 2011

I am not a Republican.

I am not a Democrat.

I’d like to be a Libertarian, but Ayn Rand “libertarians” need to check their sources, because she despised you.

I can find almost nothing likable enough about the vast majority of politicians or pundits to really believe in any of them.

 

What do I believe?

I believe in freedom. Not in freedom that the media and politicos try to sell you. Actual freedom. As in, “And if ye harm none, do as ye will.”

I believe that most people mean well, most of the time, no matter what they are told, and sometimes in spite of themselves.

I believe that the inevitable incestuous and cronyist phase of any “free” society is unfortunately well upon us, and truly at war with the real virtues and ideals that made this nation (the United States of America) great.

I believe that the crony capitalist and nanny-state corruption is so firmly entrenched that standard appeals to the Pathos, Logos, or Ethos of the vast majority of people who are elected and empowered to help make life better no longer are sufficient to keep this nation free and strong.

I believe that real change did not arrive after the elections of 2008, though I do think that fellow in the White House came into this job with the best of intentions.

I believe that the people who make policy in this country are by nature or nurture too far removed from the people they represent to serve in their appointed functions any more. That they are a de facto presence and that near-universal liberation of these posts of power to new blood with fresh ideas is crucial in these times.

I believe that the populace in general is not so much stupid as they are numb from the ridiculous back and forth, Thunderdome-style pageant that goes on in front of them every day that they are often paralyzed, hypnotized, subverted, and are so frustrated with the whole mess as to just accept the “inevitable” — that we’re either getting Jerk A or Jerk B for any given position, so we might as well either vote with “our guys” or not at all.

 

I believe that real change is inevitable, that it does not require violence or malice of any kind, that we don’t need to look to our failed leaders to provide it for us, and that it is – by design – OURS for the making.

I believe that signs are everywhere, loads of people making a living “articulating the popular rage“, and that is all well and good, but does anyone have real answers?

 

Yes.

I believe that there are many people providing answers (and asking the right questions) all around us every day, but they are mostly working from the bottom-up. change will not be top-down as so many past leaders have promised.

I also believe that I am far from alone.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Fucking beautiful!

  2. Hitting a lot of key points that I think a lot of people agree, but for some absurd reason are either unwilling or possibly unable to articulate.

    To quote a friend:

    Your open-mindedness and post-partisan attitudes offend me deeply.

    Keep rolling brother.

Leave a Reply

